August 2022 Books Monthly Review of books and stories magazine - on the web 24 years...
books monthly
New children's books for great summer reading...

 


Contents: The Front Page | Fiction | Fantasy & Science Fiction | Children's | Nonfiction | Nostalgia | The Silent Three | The Four Marys
Growing Up in the 1950s | Pen and Sword Books | Living with Skipper | Acker Bilk Album Sleeve Notes | The Back Page | Email



Stewart Foster: Can You Feel The Noise?

 Published by 23rd June 2022


A profound story about inner strength and perseverance in the face of a life-changing event, from the award-winning author of The Bubble Boy. Perfect for fans of R. J. Palacio's Wonder and Lisa Thompson's The Goldfish Boy.

‘A wonderful book about overcoming a life-changing event and the remarkable power of music.’ – 
Lisa Thompson, author of The Goldfish Boy

Life is going well for Sophie. She’s getting by at school, has some pretty awesome friends, and their band have made it through to the semifinals of the Battle of the Bands competition.

But when Sophie wakes up completely deaf one morning, the life she once knew seems like a distant memory. With lessons replaced by endless hospital appointments, and conversations now an exercise in lip-reading, Sophie grows quieter and quieter. Until she discovers the vibrations of sound through an old set of drums and wonders whether life onstage is actually still within reach.

Drawing on the author's own hearing impairment, 
Can You Feel the Noise? is a deeply personal and moving story that will stay with you long after reading.



David Walliams: Spaceboy

Published 29th September 2022

Go back to the Space Race with No.1 bestselling author David Walliams for a breathless cinematic adventure full of mystery, action, laughs and surprises – and a secret that could change the course of history…

America. The 1960s

Ruth loves climbing trees, making a mess and throwing stones. But the thing she loves most is SPACE.

The girl is OBSESSED. She spends her days reading comics about alien invasions, doodling UFOs, watching B-movies about Earth being invaded by creatures from Mars… and gazing at the stars through her old, battered telescope.

Until one night, Ruth creeps out of bed in the attic room of her rickety old farmhouse to watch the stars – and is just dozing off when she spots something blazing across the sky. Something that looks like a flying saucer! Is she dreaming? No! And the flying saucer is on fire…

But when the UFO crash-lands in the cornfield, and Ruth rushes to help, she finds a mystery – and an adventure – beyond her wildest dreams…

David Walliams was most recently Children’s #1 bestseller with The World's Worst Pets (TCM chart: 30 April 2022)




Ian Livingstone: Shadow of the Giants

 Published 1st September 2022


“A new way of telling stories and in many ways the birth of modern gaming, these books captured the imaginations of a generation of kids – it’s great to think that a new generation are going to be similarly captivated” bestselling author Charlie Higson

When an ancient artifact is discovered inside Firetop Mountain, its evil magic unleashes terrifying Iron Giants upon the world. In a race against time, YOU must find the only person who knows how to defeat them. Where does he live? Will he help? Will YOU survive?

ABOUT THE SERIES

The multi-million copy globally bestselling choose-your-own-adventure series is repackaged and reignited for a brand new generation of children.

  • All you need is a dice and you can choose which way the story goes
  • Be careful - the main character can die at any point!
  • 20 million copies sold worldwide in 32 languages
  • Perfect for kids who love gaming
  • A great way to encourage children away from gaming on screens and get them back into reading books!



Tom Fletcher: Space Band

 Published 13th October 2022


The out-of-this-world new adventure from number-one-bestselling author of The Danger Gang and The Christmasaurus: Tom Fletcher.

George, Neila and Bash are the worst band on Earth. George wants them to be brilliant - but Neila has stage fright, and Bash is too distracted by his obsession with stars, aliens and faraway planets. But what they lack in talent and confidence, they make up for in heart.

They're determined to blow their friends away at their school Battle of the Bands contest. But the moment they start to play...

They're beamed up into space!!!

Now the kids face an even bigger challenge: Battle of the Bands, but the intergalactic version. They're competing against alien bands from every galaxy! And if they don't win, they might never make it home again...

Can the worst band on Earth become the best band in the universe?

An intergalactically awesome tale of celebrating difference, believing in yourself, and the power of friendship.






Mark Bradley: Bumble and Snug and the Excited Unicorn

Published 21st July 2022


Best friends Bumble and Snug are Bugbops - little monsters filled with BIG feelings! Join them and a VERY excited unicorn, in this new, full-colour graphic novel, as they go on a thrilling, funny adventure and learn about the world outside and inside.

Bumble and Snug are in the magical unicorn forest when they get into a spot of trouble. Luckily, they are rescued by a unicorn and together they have the great idea to become superheroes.

Introducing the super buddies! From a runaway ice-cream van to a lost teddy bear, Bumble, Snug and Sparklehoof the unicorn save the day. But not everybody is happy when Sparklehoof gets too excited with his magic.

Bumble and Snug have to come up with a super action plan to stop Sparklehoof. And with a giant kitten on the loose and a jelly city, they will have to work FAST!

Bumble and Snug and the Excited Unicorn is a story about being too excited and how to listen, friendship and magic, and three new SUPERHEROES!

Perfect for readers just starting to enjoy stories independently, for visual readers and for wise kids to share with their grown-ups. For fans of Narwhal and Jelly and Dogman.



James Patterson & Ellen Banda-Aaku: The Elephant Girl

 Published 4th August 2022


Jama is a clever and sensitive young Maasai girl who likes elephants better than people.

She decides to escape the classroom gossip about the new boy, Leku, by going to the watering hole outside her village. There, she befriends a baby elephant that she names Mbegu.

When Mbegu's mother, frightened by poachers, stampedes, Jama and Mbegu are blamed for two deaths - one elephant and one human. Now Leku, whose mysterious and imposing father is the head ranger at the conservancy, may be their only lifeline.

A beautiful, heart-pounding story of a girl, an elephant, and their life-changing friendship.



Stephen Mulhern: Max Magic

 Published by 1st September 2022


The MAGICAL debut children's book from superstar TV presenter and magician, Stephen Mulhern!

ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE!

Max Mullers loves doing magic tricks - his gran has taught him everything he knows! But his tricks aren't enough to keep Bottley the Bully off his back.

Then a run-in with Bottley at his parents' market stall gets Max into even bigger trouble - now the notorious East End gangsters 
the Crayfish Twins are after him! If Max is going to get out of this one, he'll need A MIRACLE. Fortunately for Max, with magic . . . anything is possible!

An unforgettable adventure celebrating friendship, family and . . . MAGIC!

Engaging black-and-white illustrations throughout and a dyslexic-friendly layout make this perfect for every child.

Ideal for fans of Greg James & Chris Smith, Noel Fitzpatrick and David Baddiel.

Inspired by Stephen Mulhern's incredible story of his journey to becoming a magician, performer and TV star.




The Hocus Pocus Spell Book

 Published 30th August 2022


Dive into the world of Disney's Hocus Pocus with this stunning spell book.

It's all just a bunch of hocus pocus inside this gorgeous Hocus Pocus Spell Book. Fans of the annual Halloween favorite, Hocus Pocus will love this enchanting title featuring spells, potions, witch history, and more! Full of magical of illustrations, comments from Winnie, Mary, and Sarah, and more, this beautiful book is a must-have accessory for any want-to-be Sanderson sister and the perfect gift for Hocus Pocus fans of any age.

For more spellbinding Hocus Pocus stories, check out these magical titles:

  • Hocus Pocus and the All-New Sequel
  • Art of Coloring: Hocus Pocus
  • Hocus Pocus: The Illustrated Novelization



The small print: Books Monthly, now well into its 24th year on the web, is published on or slightly before the first day of each month by Paul Norman. You can contact me here. If you wish to submit something for publication in the magazine, let me remind you there is no payment as I don't make any money from this publication. If you want to send me something to review, contact me via email at paulenorman1@gmail.com and I'll let you know where to send it.