Books Monthly
June 2024


New
Children's Books for 2024




J J Arcanjo: Crookhaven - The Island Heist

Published 20th June 2024

The third book in the irresistible series about chosen family, high stakes thievery, and what it really means to do good. Perfect for fans of M.G. Leonard and Anthony Horowitz. It's Gabriel's third year at Crookhaven School for Thieves. Along with the usual Break-In challenge - this year to Reclamation island - and difficult new classes like Signs & Signals, Gabriel and his friends have another goal: taking down the Nameless. The Nameless are the very worst type of criminals - they steal, trick and kidnap for their own benefit, rather than to do good in the world. Each member of Gabriel's crew has a very personal reason for wanting to take the Nameless down - but what can a group of underage school children do compared to the most powerful crew of the underworld? Luckily, there might be something hidden at Crookhaven that could help them. But first they have to find it... The third book in the 'criminally good' Crookhaven series, the secret school where students are taught to do wrong, so that one day, they can put the world to rights.


Jacqueline Wilson: The Best Sleepover in the World

Published 17th August 2023

A long-awaited sequel to the hugely popular book Sleepovers! Daisy's worst ever enemy Chloe is desperate to win back her friends so she announces she's going to have THE BEST SLEEPOVER IN THE WORLD. Chloe's party is going to have a swim in a luxury pool, a special makeover for every guest, and a real live meeting with a social media superstar. All Chloe's old friends are invited, even Daisy's best friend Emily. But Daisy is left out. Daisy's sister Lily is non-verbal but she's learned Makaton at her new special school. She signs to Daisy that she wants a sleepover. Will family and friends somehow make Lily's party THE BEST SLEEPOVER IN THE WORLD? A moving look at friendship, sleepovers and siblings from the much loved, bestselling Jacqueline Wilson.






Nick Butterworth: Badger's Bath

Published 6th June 2024

The A funny Percy the Park Keeper story from highly regarded, award-winning author and illustrator Nick Butterworth, creator of One Snowy Night.

The badger has been doing what badgers do best. Digging. He’s had a lovely day and, as usual when he’s had a lovely day, he is filthy dirty.

Percy the park keeper loves to help his animal friends, so when he sees how dirty the badger is, he prepares a special bath with warm soapy water. But just as it’s ready, the badger is nowhere to be seen…

Percy and his animal friends have delighted readers around the world for over thirty years!





Doctor Who: The Official Guide

Published 15th August 2024

“Now, if you don’t mind, there is a great big universe out there calling, and I’ve gotta get going!”

With exclusive content from Ncuti Gatwa’s first outing as the Fifteenth Doctor, discover more about the Time Lord who has been keeping the Earth safe for over 60 years.

This brand-new edition is the ultimate guide to all of the Doctor’s fifteen incarnations – from William Hartnell to Tom Baker and including both of David Tennant’s eras – you will learn fascinating facts from all of space and time.

Discover more about the Doctor’s many helpful companions, fearsome foes and, of course, the TARDIS who has been through it all.

Learn the difference between regeneration and bi-generation, why you should never anger a Meep, and always, always get Cherry Sunday a cup of tea!

So, allons-y!



David Farr: The Secret of the Blood-Red Key

Published 6th June 2024

The dazzling follow-up to the phenomenal The Book of Stolen Dreams from master storyteller David Farr, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell and Philip Pullman.

Step inside the pages of an immortal adventure...

Rachel and Robert have defeated the tyrant Malstain and become the heroes of Krasnia, but all is not how it should be. Robert is swept away with his new friends, leaving Rachel alone to take care of her ailing father, who's lost without their beloved mother.

From nowhere, a boy appears knowing the secrets of the hidden blood-red key. For the key is a way into the Hinterland - and Rachel must promise that, as a new key keeper, she will answer when it calls. When a young girl, Elsa Spiegel, is illegally smuggled into the Hinterland, Rachel has no choice but to use her key to save Elsa. But her fate is linked to Krasnia, and Rachel must battle to save her home as she knows it.


Emma Carroll: The Houdini Inheritance

Published 4th July 2024

Magic shows and mysteries abound in this showstopping new standalone from a bestselling author who has sold close to a million copies of these middle-grade adventures!

The English seaside, 1920s

A world famous escape artist . . .
A suitcase full of secrets . . .
And a death-defying stunt . . .

When Harry Houdini comes to visit the seaside town of Sidford-on-Sea, Glory and her friend Dennis are first in-line to see him. He is there to perform a daring trick: he will jump off the town pier in chains, pitching himself into the water below. But when Glory outsmarts the infamous Houdini, she is suddenly sucked into his world, and finds herself tasked with looking after his precious trunk - the one that contains all his secrets.

With Houdini in danger, Glory and Dennis are thrown deep into an adventure that takes them all the way to Coney Island in America, and the dark underbelly of its amusement parks . . .



Alice Roberts: Wolf Road

Published 6th June 2024

Tuuli is a prehistoric girl, travelling with her tribe through the seasons – making camp, hunting for food and protecting themselves against the many hazards that the climate throws at them. Tuuli knows there’s a bigger world out there, and when she spots a strange boy lurking outside their camp, she realises that he might hold the adventure she is looking for.

He is from another tribe, sent to find safer ground and as he and Tuuli strike up an unlikely friendship, they set out on a journey that will impact the rest of human history.

A vast adventure with a very human heart, full of wild animals, huge scenery and heart-stopping danger and inspired by real anthropological discoveries. The stunning debut novel from Digging for Britain presenter, Professor Alice Roberts, for fans of His Dark Materials, Wolf Brother and The Last Bear.



Serena Patel & Robin Stevens: The Super Sunny Murder Club

Published 6th June 2024

A collection of sizzling summer-themed crime and mystery stories by thirteen of the most popular and exciting children’s book authors!

Co-edited by Serena Patel, the award-winning author of the Anisha: Accidental Detective series and by Robin Stevens, author of the bestselling Murder Most Unladylike series.

This gorgeous summery collection brings back together thirteen bestselling, award-winning and exciting authors: Abiola Bello, Annabelle Sami, Benjamin Dean, E.L. Norry, Elle McNicoll, Dominique Valente, Maisie Chan, Nizrana Farook, Patrice Lawrence, Robin Stevens, Roopa Farooki, Serena Patel and Sharna Jackson. With stunning illustrations by Harry Woodgate.

Grab your sunnies and your magnifying glass, and join the Murder Club for more sensational short stories as they lead you on a journey of foul play and murderously magnificent mysteries! Including sun-thieves, fantastical creatures of the deep, airport mayhem, weddings gone wrong, tropical resort travesties, and a very sticky situation at a berry picking farm.

This is the prefectly entertaining collection to pack in every young reader’s summer holiday bag.