July 2021 - dedicated to Skipper and Holly with all my love...
  books monthly
   
New and forthcoming Children's Books...

 




My children's book of the month this month is the first illustrated edition of Philip Pullman's classic fantasy-adventure novel Northern Lights...


David Walliams: Mega Monster

 Published 24th June 2021

The new children’s book from No. 1 bestselling author David Walliams – a timeless adventure illustrated by artistic genius, Tony Ross.

On a volcanic island, in the middle of shark-infested waters, stands The Cruel School. The lessons are appalling, the school dinners are revolting and the teachers are terrifying – especially the mysterious Science teacher Doctor Doktur.

When Larker is sent to the school, she quickly realises something very odd is going on… something involving Doctor Doktur, a pair of strange spectacles, and a ‘Monsterfication Machine’. And ultimately she finds herself face to face with a real life Megamonster.

There seems to be no escape – but for Larker, nothing is impossible…






Jenny McLachlan: The Battle for Roar

 Published 8th July 2021


The final book in the epic and bestselling children’s fantasy series that will make you believe in magic … Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell's How to Train Your Dragon, Michelle Harrison's A Pinch of Magic, as well as classic children's fantasy adventures, Narnia and Jumanji.

Rose and Arthur are back in Roar, on a voyage that takes them further than they’ve ever been before: beyond The End.

It’s an amazing adventure – full of secrets, surprises and fairies with fangs – but then a mysterious storm changes everything.

Shipwrecked on a strange island, they make a shocking discovery … Could this be the end of Roar?

Jenny McLachlan is the author of several acclaimed teen novels including Flirty Dancing, Stargazing for Beginners and Truly, Wildly, Deeply. Before Jenny became a writer, she was Head of English in a secondary school; she now loves visiting schools as an author and delivering funny and inspiring talks and workshops. The Land of Roar series is Jenny’s debut for readers of 8-12.

Ben Mantle began his illustration career early, picking up his first award in a local library colouring-in competition aged seven. Ben has illustrated a number of children’s books and is the creator of the award-winning The Best Birthday Present Ever! . Ben lives and works in Brighton.


Jamie Smart: Bunny vs. Monkey

 Published 1st July 2021


This brand new remastered book collects together Bunny vs Monkey 5: Destructo and Bunny vs Monkey 6: Apocalypse for the first time. Since he crash-landed to Earth in a rocket, Monkey has been causing absolute mayhem! Bunny and the gang (Squirrel, Pig [the Pig], Action Beaver, and Skunky the Inventor) have almost had enough. Monkey's eternal struggle for world domination is getting more ridiculous every day, and it's impossible to predict which bizarre plan he's going to put into action next... In this comic extravaganza, the pint-sized friends must face a giant robot whale, a pig cannon, a camping trip that goes wrong... oh, and the actual end of the world! Can Bunny and Co stop the apocalypse before it's too late?!




Ryan Dykta: Big Day At The Park

 Published 8th July 2021


Follow the dynamic doggy duo - chatty collie Casper and his loyal friend Daisy as they head off to the park and learn all about the power of kindness and friendship!

Casper is not like other dogs. He doesn't care about chasing woolly sheep or gnawing on tasty bones. Instead all Casper has ever dreamed of doing is speaking, so he can chat away to his owner. An eventful trip to the park leads to fun and frolics with a mysterious alphabet ball. In this magical moment, all Casper's dreams come true!

Packed with stunning illustrations and a heartwarming rhyming story, little ones will learn about the importance of being kind to others and being a caring friend. Whether you want a memorable picture book to share again and again or a sweet story for sleepy bedtimes, Casper and Daisy's Big Day at the Park is the perfect choice.

The first of a soon to be series that follows Casper and Daisy on their epic escapade of fun and friendship, Casper and Daisy's Big Day at the Park is a delightful story that teaches everyone young and old what it really means to be kind.


Robin Stevens: Once Upon A Crime

 Published 5th August 2021


A brand-new short story collection in the number-one bestselling, award-winning Murder Most Unladylike series.

Featuring four thrilling original, never-before published stories!

Discover The Case of the Second Scream, set aboard the ship carrying Daisy and Hazel back from Hong Kong, and The Case of the Uninvited Guest, where Uncle Felix and Aunt Lucy's wedding is the target for an unlikely threat. The Hound of Weston School sees the Junior Pinkertons lead the detecting, and Hazel's little sister May Wong shows her ambition to be the greatest spy ever in The Case of the Deadly Flat.

The perfect book for all Detective Society fans and avid readers of the Murder Most Unladylike series.



Rachel Bright & Jim Field: The Whale Who Wanted More

 Published 29th April 2021


A stunning undersea tale of friendship, community and discovery from the bestselling creators of The Lion Inside.

Under glittering waves of a vast ocean blue, a beautiful world is hidden from view.
And there, in the cool and the quiet of the deep, a great, gentle giant was stirring from sleep . . .

Humphrey the whale is on a quest: to find the one perfect object that will make him feel complete. He roams far and wide, gathering endless undersea treasure as he goes. Yet, no matter how many goodies he accumulates, Humphrey still doesn't feel content. Could it be friendship, not possessions, that will really make Humphrey's heart sing?

A sparkling rhyming tale that encourages sharing and kindness, this heartwarming story of friendship is perfect for reading aloud.



Dara McAnulty: Wild Child

 Published by 8th July 2020


Join brilliant young naturalist Dara McAnulty – winner of the 2020 Wainwright Prize for his book Diary of a Young Naturalist – on a nature walk and experience the joy of connecting with the natural world on your multi sensory journey.

This beautiful gift book, illustrated in full colour by Barry Falls, is divided into five sections: looking out of the window, venturing out into the garden, walking in the woods, investigating heathland and wandering on the river bank.

Dara pauses to tell you about each habitat and provides fantastic facts about the native birds, animals and plants you will find there – including wrens, blackbirds, butterflies, tadpoles, bluebells, bees, hen harriers, otters, dandelions, oak trees and many more.

Each section contains a discovery section where you will have a closer look at natural phenomenon such as metamorphoses and migration, learn about categorization in the animal kingdom or become an expert on the collective nouns for birds.

Each section finishes with an activity to do when you get home: plant wild flowers, make a bird feeder, try pond dipping, make a journey stick and build a terrarium.

Dara ends the book with advice for young conservationists.



Joyce Dunbar & James Mayhew: Mouse and Mole

 Published 30th June 2021


What will Mouse and Mole find to do tomorrow? They set out their plan: a picnic of cheese and cucumber sandwiches if it is a fine day, or roasted chestnuts and toasted muffins in front of an apple wood fire if it is wild and wintry. But what will they do if it is an in-between sort of day?

The two cohabiting animals are characters that stand alongside the greats of children's literature Sunday Times

One in a series of gentle and humorous story collections by acclaimed author and illustrator team Joyce Dunbar and James Mayhew.

A new edition of these classic stories returns them to print for the enjoyment of a further generation of readers.

Perfect for shared reading with younger children and for older children to read independently.


The small print: Books Monthly, now well into its 24th year on the web, is published on or slightly before the first day of each month by Paul Norman. You can contact me here. If you wish to submit something for publication in the magazine, let me remind you there is no payment as I don't make any money from this publication. If you want to send me something to review, contact me via email at paulenorman1@gmail.com and I'll let you know where to send it.



  c o n t e n t s:

 

  Home Page

  Fiction books

  Fantasy & Science Fiction

  Nonfiction Books

  Nostalgia

  Growing up in the 1960s

  Living with Skipper

  Acker Bilk Sleeve Notes

  Pen and Sword Books

  Email me



These great new books are on this page: